Wasatch Beach Hosts Armed Forces Beach Volleyball Championships

Wasatch Beach was honored to host the 2013 Armed Forces Beach Volleyball Championships, May 3 – 5. Gold medals were won by the All-Army men’s and women’s teams, breaking the Navy’s dominance since the inaugural championships in 2010.

Each service branch entered No. 1 and No. 2 men’s and women’s teams, except the Air Force, which did not send women’s teams to the tournament.

The Army women’s No. 1 team of Capt. Rachael Tax (Fort Bragg, North Carolina) and 1st Lt. Shara DeMarco (Camp Carroll, South Korea) prevailed over the Navy’s No. 1 squad of Lt. j.g. Abbie Merkl (Camp Lejeune, North Carolina) and Lt. j.g. Jesselyn Lavalley (Charleston, South Carolina).

The Army men’s No. 1 team of Army Reserve Sgt. Joe Rossetter (Columbus, Ohio) and Staff Sgt. Lewis Dennis (Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Washington) prevailed over the Navy’s No. 2 team of Lt. Chris Lambert (Naples, Italy) and Seaman Noel Garcia (Islamorado, Florida).

Congratulations to all of the service people who competed. We hope you had a great time playing at Wasatch Beach!

Thanks to Tim Hipps (Installation Management Command) and Ken Polk (U.S. Armed Forces Sports) for their online reporting on this event for the Defense Department, which served as the source for this post.